D.I.Y Recycled Throw Pillows

If you haven’t guessed it by now, I am a very frugal and hands on. I fell in love with Pinterest a few years ago and it has changed my life in many ways. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t find myself searching Pinterest for new ideas, from home decor to food recipes, I revert to Pinterest.

One thing I love to make are throw pillows, they are super simple, quick and cheap to make! What I love the most about making throw pillows are I am always able to change-up the decor to a space. They also add additional personalization to any area and I love saying “I made those” when someone ask where did I get my cute pillows.

You can buy new fabric or pillow case covers from Hobby Lobby/Wal-Mart, in this particular project I recycled things I had around the house. I used one of my old window panels, as I had bought new ones with the same pattern; I decided it would be nice to make throws for my bed to match. I also bought new sleeping pillows and decided to wash and dry the old ones and used the stuffing to fill my new throws.

Pillows

What I used:

  • 1 old curtain panel (You may use any fabric of your choice, get creative!)
  •  1 old pillow (washed and air-dried. Feel free to buy pillow stuffing if you rather it be new)
  • hot glue gun w/ glue sticks
  • scissors & measuring tape

What to do:

Step 1:

Below are a written steps as to what I did and I will be sure that any future D.I.Y projects I post are full in detail with photos! Work with the newbie here.

  • Cut fabric to desired length but be sure you are cutting enough fabric to fold!
  • Cut open your old pillow and remove the stuffing, it will be tightly packed together so you will need to pull it a part and set it in an empty trash bag for when you’re ready to rebuff it.
  • Warm the hot glue gun, in the meantime fold your fabric and size it to be glued.
  • Glue the edges all around, but do not close the pillow, keep the corner open. This is very important because you will need enough room to stuff, then fold and glue that corner closed.
    (See photo example here)

Step 2:

As this was my first time deciding to share my D.I.Y pillows, I didn’t take step by step photos during the process. So, I am asking you to visit this blog post if you need more visual as we generally did the same thing, only difference is the fabric and stuffing. Although I do think I am going to make a set of throw pillows using napkins as she did for my couch.

If you enjoyed this D.I.Y, Pin it! Follow this blog & me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

